Azure Files and Kerberos Support - A Cloud Story

AZ Files and Kerberos - Header

Back in 2021, Kerberos support for Azure AD was available as a preview. A lot has happened since then and the three-headed hellhound continues to make its way and shake up the cloud. This article is a collection of information on what Azure AD with Kerberos and Azure Files already provides and where the journey will go. This is because support for Azure Files with Kerberos has also recently been publicly communicated, although at the time of writing this article it is still in preview.

Application Gateway WAF v2 Custom Rules

Header - AppGW WAF v2 Custom Rules

The Application Gateway WAF v2 has brought some new features compared to v1, including the ability to create "WAF Custom Rules". In this short article I would like to discuss these "Custom Rules" and show how you can successfully create them. I have added some hints to the article that are difficult or impossible to find in the Microsoft documentation.

Free SSL Certificate for your Azure App Service

Azure App Service Free SSL Cert

As is generally known, all services on the Internet must be encrypted. The SSL certificates of your trusted provider serve this purpose. Such certificates are often not inexpensive and / or associated with recurring administrative effort due to their renewal. However, Microsoft offers a free SSL Certificate for your Azure App Service. In this article, I go into more detail about the advantages and disadvantages. In addition, you can find a HowTo video on how to get a free App Service Certificate yourself or read about it directly at Microsoft Docs.

Automatically audit and deploy Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies

Banner - Auto Azure RG Lock with policies

You can create resources very easily on the Azure platform. This is great, but it also provides a few risks. For example, you can delete resources or entire environments just as easily. What is very helpful for tests and demos can be very dangerous for integration and production environments. So you don't have to manage this manually, I wrote an Azure Policy code. This defines the automatic auditing and provisioning of Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies.

ARM template deployment – Hub and Spoke with Bastion

ARM Template Hub and Spoke with Bastion

With an Azure Resource Manager (ARM) template, you can create a specific infrastructure on Azure with the click of a button. The template defines the infrastructure as code and Azure is thereby told the target state of the resources. I have created such a template and published it via Github. The ARM template deployment includes a hub and spoke network topology with a central Azure bastion for secure access to VMs. This post shows you step by step how to use the template for yourself.

Use Azure Bastion with VNet peering

Azure Bastion with VNet peering

The Microsoft PaaS "Azure Bastion" is a popular service to make your Azure networks more secure. However, until now there was a drastic limit. Azure Bastion could only be used in the same VNet. VMs in a peered network could not be accessed via Bastion. This circumstance pushes up the costs, because with a hub-and-spoke topology you have to place a bastion in each VNet. But these times are over. Use Azure Bastion with VNet peering (since 05.11.2020 in preview).

Azure Bastion - Secure access to Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

The work forms "home office", "remote work" or even "work anywhere" are becoming increasingly important, especially in recent months. This change affects not only users, but also IT staff and system administrators. However, I am often confronted with mistrust and security concerns when dealing with such issues. This is where Azure Bastion comes into play. Bastion not only enables "work anywhere" for system administrators, but also provides increased security and secure access to your Azure VMs without the need for a VPN!

Azure Bastion Planning and Implementation

Plan and Implement Azure Bastion - Banner

Azure Bastion is an Azure service that allows you to access your Azure VMs securely and centrally via the web portal. This allows you to enable your system administrators and system specialists to "work anywhere" without any security concerns. In this article I will not focus on the service itself, but rather on the steps necessary to plan and implement Azure Bastion.

Backup and restore MFA-configuration

MFA Configuration Backup

Multi-factor authentication is widely used today and should be standard for all companies and individuals. But what if the configured MFA device is lost or broken? Microsoft's Authenticator App offers a practical, simple and secure solution to this problem through cloud backup of the MFA configuration. With it you can easily backup your existing MFA configuration. This article shows how to activate the backup, add another MFA device, load the backup data and remove the lost or broken device. And all of this can be done very easily in a few steps.

en_GBEnglish

Application Gateway WAF v2 Custom Rules

Header - AppGW WAF v2 Custom Rules

Der Application Gateway WAF v2 hat einige neue Funktionen gegenüber der v1 mit sich gebracht, unter anderem die Möglichkeit zum Erstellen von «WAF Custom Rules». In diesem kurzen Artikel möchte ich auf diese «Custom Rules» eingehen und aufzeigen, wie du solche erfolgreich erstellen kannst. Den Artikel habe ich mit gewissen Hinweisen versehen, die in der Microsoft Dokumentation nur schwer oder gar nicht zu finden sind.

Gratis SSL Certificate für deinen Azure App Service

Azure App Service Free SSL Cert

Jegliche Services im Internet sollen bekannterweise unbedingt verschlüsselt sein. Dazu dienen die SSL Certificates deines Anbieters des Vertrauens. Solche Zertifikate sind oft nicht kostengünstig und / oder durch deren Erneuerung mit wiederkehrendem administrativem Aufwand verbunden. Microsoft bietet allerdings ein gratis SSL Certificate für deinen Azure App Service an. In diesem Artikel gehe ich näher darauf ein, welche Vor- und Nachteile bestehen. Zudem findest du hier ein HowTo-Video, wie du selbst an ein gratis App Service Certificate gelangst oder zum Nachlesen direkt bei Microsoft Docs.

Automatisches Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies

Banner - Auto Azure RG Lock with policies

Ressourcen kannst du auf der Azure Plattform sehr einfach erstellen. Das ist grossartig, doch bietet auch ein paar gefahren. Beispielsweise kannst du nämlich Ressourcen oder ganze Umgebungen genau so einfach löschen. Was für Tests und Demos sehr hilfreich ist, kann bei Integrations- und Produktions- Umgebungen sehr gefährlich sein. Damit du dies nicht manuell zu verwalten brauchst, habe ich einen Azure Policy Code geschrieben. Dieser definiert das automatische Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies.

ARM Template Deployment – Hub and Spoke mit Bastion

ARM Template Hub and Spoke with Bastion

Mit einem Azure Resource Manager (ARM) Template kannst du per Knopfdruck eine bestimmte Infrastruktur auf Azure erstellen. Das Template definiert die Infrastruktur als Code und Azure wird dadurch der Sollzustand der Ressourcen mitgeteilt. Ein solches Template habe ich erstellt und über Github veröffentlicht. Das ARM Template Deployment beinhaltet eine Hub and Spoke Netzwerktopologie mit einer zentralen Azure Bastion für den sicheren Zugriff auf VMs. Dieser Beitrag zeigt dir Schritt für Schritt, wie du das Template für dich nutzen kannst.

Verwende Azure Bastion mit VNet peering

Azure Bastion with VNet peering

Der Microsoft PaaS «Azure Bastion» ist ein beliebter Dienst um deine Azure Netzwerke sicherer zu gestallten. Bisher gab es jedoch eine einschneidende Limite. Azure Bastion konnte nur im selben VNet verwendet werden. Auf VMs in einem peered Netzwerkkonnte über Bastion nicht zugegriffen werden. Dieser Umstand treibt die Kosten nach oben, da du bei einer Hub-and-Spoke Topologie in jedem VNet eine Bastion platzieren musst. Doch diese Zeiten sind vorbei. Verwende Azure Bastion mit VNet peering (seit 05.11.2020 in preview).

Azure Bastion – Sicheren Zugriff auf Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

Die Arbeitsformen «Home Office», «remote work» oder gar «work anywhere» gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung, besonders in den vergangenen Monaten. Dieser Wandel betrifft nicht nur Nutzer, sondern auch IT-Mitarbeiter und Systemadministratoren. Oft werde ich bei solchen Themen aber mit Misstrauen und Sicherheitsbedenken konfrontiert. Hier kommt Azure Bastion ins Spiel. Bastion ermöglicht nicht nur «work anywhere» für Systemadministratoren, sondern bietet gleichwohl erhöhte Sicherheit und sicheren Zugriff auf deine Azure VMs, ohne die Notwendigkeit eines VPNs!

Azure Bastion Planen und Implementieren

Plan and Implement Azure Bastion - Banner

Azure Bastion ist ein Azure Service, mit dem du sicher und zentral auf deine Azure VMs über das Web Portal zugreifen kannst. Die Arbeitsform «work anywhere» kannst du damit auch ohne Sicherheitsbedenken deinen Systemadministratoren und Systemspezialisten ermöglichen. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich aber nicht auf den Service selbst, sondern viel mehr auf die nötigen Schritte um Azure Bastion zu Planen und Implementieren eingehen.

MFA-Konfiguration sichern und wiederherstellen

MFA Configuration Backup

Die Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung ist heute weit verbreitet und sollte bei allen Firmen und Privatpersonen zum Standard gehören. Doch was ist, wenn das konfigurierte MFA-Gerät verloren oder kaputt geht? Die Authenticator App von Microsoft bietet hierzu eine praktische, einfache und sichere Lösung durch Cloud-Backup der MFA-Konfiguration. Damit kannst du ganz einfach deine bestehende MFA-Konfiguration sichern. Dieser Beitrag zeigt auf, wie du das Backup aktivieren, ein weiteres MFA-Gerät hinzufügen, die Backupdaten laden und das verlorengegangene oder defekte Gerät entfernen kannst. Und das alles ganz leicht in wenigen Schritten.

WebApp SSO mit Azure AD

Die digitale Welt verändert sich und immer mehr Cloud Apps kommen zum Einsatz. Sowohl im privaten als auch im Business. Wenn jede dieser WebApps über eine eigene Authentifizierung verfügt, so herrscht schnell ein Chaos und ein Benutzer muss sich täglich mehrmals authentifizieren. Besonders umständlich wird es, wenn bei einer WebApp mit geteilten Benutzerdaten gearbeitet wird. … mehr lesen

de_CHGerman