Azure Files and Kerberos Support - A Cloud Story

AZ Files and Kerberos - Header

Back in 2021, Kerberos support for Azure AD was available as a preview. A lot has happened since then and the three-headed hellhound continues to make its way and shake up the cloud. This article is a collection of information on what Azure AD with Kerberos and Azure Files already provides and where the journey will go. This is because support for Azure Files with Kerberos has also recently been publicly communicated, although at the time of writing this article it is still in preview.

Application Gateway WAF v2 Custom Rules

Header - AppGW WAF v2 Custom Rules

The Application Gateway WAF v2 has brought some new features compared to v1, including the ability to create "WAF Custom Rules". In this short article I would like to discuss these "Custom Rules" and show how you can successfully create them. I have added some hints to the article that are difficult or impossible to find in the Microsoft documentation.

One year as a digital nomad

Ein Jahr als digitaler Nomade

Time for a post of a slightly different kind. Travel, adventure, uncertainty and part-time work... This was my life when I decided to try my luck as a digital nomad and leave my home country Switzerland for a year. In this short article, you'll learn what I consider to be the ten most important points to keep in mind as a digital nomad.

Certificate-based Point to Site Azure VPN through Intune

P2S VPN through Intune header

As the business world becomes increasingly mobile, cloud services are becoming even more attractive. But what if, as is often the case, there are still dependencies on an enterprise network - on Azure, for example? The solution is obvious: a point-to-site VPN ensures communication for mobile workers. In this how-to post, I discuss how a certificate-based point-to-site VPN to an Azure VPN gateway can be automatically rolled out to mobile clients through Intune. I also discuss how certificates can be automatically issued and renewed by a Certificate Authority in combination with Intune.

Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility

With cloud services now widely available on the market, flexibility for customers has multiplied. Quickly start a virtual test environment on Azure at the push of a button and then clean it up again. However, if you want to run several virtual machines on Azure continuously, it is worth planning and save costs by means of a reservation. In order not to have to sacrifice flexibility completely, there is the "Azure Reserved Instance size flexiblity" offer, which is used for VMs and scale sets. In this article, I will go into more detail about how Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility works and how you can use it to your advantage and save money.

Windows 365 - your computer from the Azure Cloud

As many have suspected for years, Microsoft now offers Windows 365, a computer from the Azure Cloud. Microsoft officially announced the product at Inspire 2021 and officially launched it on the second of August 2021. Windows 365 - your computer from the Azure Cloud - has been GA and available to everyone since then. In the following, you will learn more about important aspects of Windows 365.

Free SSL Certificate for your Azure App Service

Azure App Service Free SSL Cert

As is generally known, all services on the Internet must be encrypted. The SSL certificates of your trusted provider serve this purpose. Such certificates are often not inexpensive and / or associated with recurring administrative effort due to their renewal. However, Microsoft offers a free SSL Certificate for your Azure App Service. In this article, I go into more detail about the advantages and disadvantages. In addition, you can find a HowTo video on how to get a free App Service Certificate yourself or read about it directly at Microsoft Docs.

en_GBEnglish

Azure Files und Kerberos Support – A Cloud Story

AZ Files and Kerberos - Header

Bereits im Jahr 2021 war Kerberos Support für Azure AD als Preview verfügbar. Seither ist viel geschehen und der dreiköpfige Höllenhund ist weiter auf dem Vormarsch und mischt die Cloud auf. Dieser Artikel ist ein Sammelsurium an Informationen, was Azure AD mit Kerberos und Azure Files schon ermöglicht und wohin die Reise gehen wird. Denn seit kurzem ist auch die Unterstützung von Azure Files mit Kerberos öffentlich kommuniziert, zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung des Artikels allerdings noch in Preview.

Application Gateway WAF v2 Custom Rules

Header - AppGW WAF v2 Custom Rules

Der Application Gateway WAF v2 hat einige neue Funktionen gegenüber der v1 mit sich gebracht, unter anderem die Möglichkeit zum Erstellen von «WAF Custom Rules». In diesem kurzen Artikel möchte ich auf diese «Custom Rules» eingehen und aufzeigen, wie du solche erfolgreich erstellen kannst. Den Artikel habe ich mit gewissen Hinweisen versehen, die in der Microsoft Dokumentation nur schwer oder gar nicht zu finden sind.

Azure ArcBox im Cloud Adoption Framework

Arc Landing CAF

Die Entwickler Konferenz «Microsoft Build 2022» hat einige Neuigkeiten mit sich gebracht, auch im Bereich des Cloud Adoption Frameworks (CAF) in Kombination mit Azure Arc. Auf einige dieser Neuerungen, das Tool ArcBox und entsprechnede Dokumentationen auf Microsoft Docs, möchte ich in diesem Artikel eingehen.

Ein Jahr als digitaler Nomade

Ein Jahr als digitaler Nomade

Zeit für einen Beitrag der etwas anderen Art. Reisen, Abenteuer, Ungewissheit und Teilzeitarbeit… Das war mein Leben, als ich mich für ein Jahr als digitaler Nomade versucht und meine Heimat Schweiz für ein Jahr verlassen habe. In diesem Kurzartikel erfährst du die aus meiner Sicht zehn wichtigsten Punkte, worauf du dich als digitaler Nomade achten solltest.

Zertifikat basiertes Point to Site Azure VPN per Intune

P2S VPN through Intune header

Mit der immer mobiler werdenden Arbeitswelt werden Cloud Services umso attraktiver. Doch was, wenn wie so oft noch Abhängigkeiten zu einem Enterprise Netzwerk – beispielsweise auf Azure – bestehen? Die Lösung liegt auf der Hand, ein Point to Site VPN stellt die Kommunikation für mobil Arbeitende sicher. In diesem How-to Post gehe ich darauf ein, wie ein Zertifikat basiertes Point to Site VPN zu einem Azure VPN Gateway per Intune auf den mobilen Clients automatisch ausgerollt werden kann. Ebenfalls gehe ich darauf ein, wie die Zertifikate von einer Certificate Authority im Zusammenspiel mit Intune automatisch ausgestellt und auch erneuert werden können.

Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility

Mit den inzwischen weit verbreiteten Cloud-Services auf dem Markt, hat sich die Flexibilität für Kunden vervielfacht. Schnell eine virtuelle Testumgebung per Knopfdruck auf Azure starten und anschliessend wieder bereinigen. Möchte man aber durchgehend mehrere virtuelle Maschinen auf Azure betreiben, so lohnt es sich dies zu planen und mittels einer Reservierung kosten zu sparen. Um die Flexibilität nicht komplett einbüssen zu müssen, gibt es das «Azure Reserved Instance size flexiblity» Angebot, welches für VMs und Scale Sets zum Einsatz kommt. In diesem Artikel möchte ich näher darauf eingehen, wie «Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility» funktioniert und du es zu deinem Gunsten einsetzen und Geld sparen kannst.

Windows 365 – dein Computer aus der Azure Cloud

Wie von vielen teils schon seit Jahren vermutet, bietet Microsoft nun mit Windows 365 einen Computer aus der Azure Cloud. An der Inspire 2021 hat Microsoft das Produkt offiziell angekündigt und bereits am zweiten August 2021 offiziell lanciert. Windows 365 – dein Computer aus der Azure Cloud – ist seither GA und für alle erhältlich. Folgend zusammengefasst erfährst du mehr über wichtige Aspekte von Windows 365.

Gratis SSL Certificate für deinen Azure App Service

Azure App Service Free SSL Cert

Jegliche Services im Internet sollen bekannterweise unbedingt verschlüsselt sein. Dazu dienen die SSL Certificates deines Anbieters des Vertrauens. Solche Zertifikate sind oft nicht kostengünstig und / oder durch deren Erneuerung mit wiederkehrendem administrativem Aufwand verbunden. Microsoft bietet allerdings ein gratis SSL Certificate für deinen Azure App Service an. In diesem Artikel gehe ich näher darauf ein, welche Vor- und Nachteile bestehen. Zudem findest du hier ein HowTo-Video, wie du selbst an ein gratis App Service Certificate gelangst oder zum Nachlesen direkt bei Microsoft Docs.

de_CHGerman