One year as a digital nomad

Ein Jahr als digitaler Nomade

Time for a post of a slightly different kind. Travel, adventure, uncertainty and part-time work... This was my life when I decided to try my luck as a digital nomad and leave my home country Switzerland for a year. In this short article, you'll learn what I consider to be the ten most important points to keep in mind as a digital nomad.

Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility

With cloud services now widely available on the market, flexibility for customers has multiplied. Quickly start a virtual test environment on Azure at the push of a button and then clean it up again. However, if you want to run several virtual machines on Azure continuously, it is worth planning and save costs by means of a reservation. In order not to have to sacrifice flexibility completely, there is the "Azure Reserved Instance size flexiblity" offer, which is used for VMs and scale sets. In this article, I will go into more detail about how Azure Reserved Instance size flexibility works and how you can use it to your advantage and save money.

Windows 365 - your computer from the Azure Cloud

As many have suspected for years, Microsoft now offers Windows 365, a computer from the Azure Cloud. Microsoft officially announced the product at Inspire 2021 and officially launched it on the second of August 2021. Windows 365 - your computer from the Azure Cloud - has been GA and available to everyone since then. In the following, you will learn more about important aspects of Windows 365.

Automatically audit and deploy Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies

Banner - Auto Azure RG Lock with policies

You can create resources very easily on the Azure platform. This is great, but it also provides a few risks. For example, you can delete resources or entire environments just as easily. What is very helpful for tests and demos can be very dangerous for integration and production environments. So you don't have to manage this manually, I wrote an Azure Policy code. This defines the automatic auditing and provisioning of Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies.

Become familiar with the Cloud Adoption Framework for Azure

get used to the Cloud Adoption Framework by Yannic Graber

The cloud continues to be on the unstoppable growth path and is an omnipresent topic to this day. However, there is no general answer to the question of whether and in what form the cloud is right for companies. This must be assessed on a case-by-case basis. And this is exactly where the difficulty lies, since companies have different levels of knowledge and are at a different point. Microsoft has recognized this and provides extensive help. No matter whether you and your company are still in the very beginning or already very advanced. Become familiar with the Cloud Adoption Framework for Azure (CAF) and use it to make the right decisions and standards.

The long awaited arrival of Azure Region Resource Mover

Azure Resource Region Mover

Mit dem an der Ignite 2020 angekündigten Azure Region Resource Mover kannst du wie der Name sagt, Azure Ressourcen in eine andere Region verschieben (offizielle Bekanntgabe). Der Service ist per sofort im Public Preview Modus verfügbar. Als Azure Advisor habe ich den Region Resource Mover bereits im Februar 2020 im Private Preview Modus für euch testen können. Erfahre mehr über meine ersten Erfahrungen und lerne, wie einfach es ist, deine Azure Ressourcen in eine andere Region zu verschieben. Es ist soweit – the arrival of Azure Region Resource Mover.

Azure Bastion - Secure access to Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

The work forms "home office", "remote work" or even "work anywhere" are becoming increasingly important, especially in recent months. This change affects not only users, but also IT staff and system administrators. However, I am often confronted with mistrust and security concerns when dealing with such issues. This is where Azure Bastion comes into play. Bastion not only enables "work anywhere" for system administrators, but also provides increased security and secure access to your Azure VMs without the need for a VPN!

MS Teams Meetings in separate windows

MS Teams separate windows

Already at the Microsoft Ignite in November 2019, the feature and support of multiple windows for Microsoft teams was announced. Since a few months this feature is already in rollout, but only for private chats (see post of 18.05.2020). Now the time has finally come and Microsoft is rolling out the feature of "MS Teams Meetings in separate windows". A long awaited feature on my part!

Azure Cost Management for CSP customers

Azure COst Management for CSP Customers

Azure Cost Management has already been available for Microsoft Cloud Solution Provider (CSP) since the end of 2019. This means that a CSP can view the costs incurred for the purchased Microsoft Cloud Services directly in the Azure Portal. The customer, on the other hand, has no access by default. The following is an explanation of how to activate Azure Cost Management as a CSP for a customer, what the requirements are and what restrictions currently exist.

Part 1: Online trainings Learnings by Yannic - equipment and organisation

In the last few days I have conducted various online trainings and webinars. Due to the current crisis situation (COVID19), various trainings and courses had to take place online and not as planned in the classroom or meeting room. This situation brings with it new challenges. In this article, I would like to record the results of the online trainings I have conducted. Most of the lessons learned refer to online trainings of several days, but also apply to shorter, for example half-day trainings.

en_GBEnglish

Windows 365 – dein Computer aus der Azure Cloud

Wie von vielen teils schon seit Jahren vermutet, bietet Microsoft nun mit Windows 365 einen Computer aus der Azure Cloud. An der Inspire 2021 hat Microsoft das Produkt offiziell angekündigt und bereits am zweiten August 2021 offiziell lanciert. Windows 365 – dein Computer aus der Azure Cloud – ist seither GA und für alle erhältlich. Folgend zusammengefasst erfährst du mehr über wichtige Aspekte von Windows 365.

Automatisches Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies

Banner - Auto Azure RG Lock with policies

Ressourcen kannst du auf der Azure Plattform sehr einfach erstellen. Das ist grossartig, doch bietet auch ein paar gefahren. Beispielsweise kannst du nämlich Ressourcen oder ganze Umgebungen genau so einfach löschen. Was für Tests und Demos sehr hilfreich ist, kann bei Integrations- und Produktions- Umgebungen sehr gefährlich sein. Damit du dies nicht manuell zu verwalten brauchst, habe ich einen Azure Policy Code geschrieben. Dieser definiert das automatische Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies.

Werde vertraut mit dem Cloud Adoption Framework für Azure

get used to the Cloud Adoption Framework by Yannic Graber

Die Cloud ist weiterhin auf dem unaufhaltsamen Vormarsch und zum heutigen Tage ein omnipräsentes Thema. Für die Frage, ob und in welcher Form die Cloud für Unternehmen richtig ist, gibt es allerdings keine pauschale Antwort. Das muss von Fall zu Fall beurteilt werden. Und genau da liegt die Schwierigkeit, verfügen Firmen doch über unterschiedliche Wissensstände und stehen an einem anderen Punkt. Microsoft hat dies erkannt und stellt umfängliche Hilfe zur Verfügung. Ganz egal ob du und deine Firma noch ganz am Anfang stehen oder bereits sehr fortgeschritten sind. Werde vertraut mit dem Cloud Adoption Framework für Azure (CAF) und nutze es, um die richtigen Entscheidungen und Standards herbeizuführen.

The long awaited arrival of Azure Region Resource Mover

Azure Resource Region Mover

Mit dem an der Ignite 2020 angekündigten Azure Region Resource Mover kannst du wie der Name sagt, Azure Ressourcen in eine andere Region verschieben (offizielle Bekanntgabe). Der Service ist per sofort im Public Preview Modus verfügbar. Als Azure Advisor habe ich den Region Resource Mover bereits im Februar 2020 im Private Preview Modus für euch testen können. Erfahre mehr über meine ersten Erfahrungen und lerne, wie einfach es ist, deine Azure Ressourcen in eine andere Region zu verschieben. Es ist soweit – the arrival of Azure Region Resource Mover.

Azure Bastion – Sicheren Zugriff auf Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

Die Arbeitsformen «Home Office», «remote work» oder gar «work anywhere» gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung, besonders in den vergangenen Monaten. Dieser Wandel betrifft nicht nur Nutzer, sondern auch IT-Mitarbeiter und Systemadministratoren. Oft werde ich bei solchen Themen aber mit Misstrauen und Sicherheitsbedenken konfrontiert. Hier kommt Azure Bastion ins Spiel. Bastion ermöglicht nicht nur «work anywhere» für Systemadministratoren, sondern bietet gleichwohl erhöhte Sicherheit und sicheren Zugriff auf deine Azure VMs, ohne die Notwendigkeit eines VPNs!

MS Teams Meetings in separaten Fenstern

MS Teams separate windows

Bereits an der Microsoft Ignite im November 2019 wurde das Feature beziehungsweise die Unterstützung von mehreren Fenstern für Microsoft Teams angekündigt. Seit ein paar Monaten ist dieses Feature bereits im Rollout, allerdings nur für private Chats (siehe Post vom 18.05.2020). Jetzt ist es endlich soweit und Microsoft rollt das Feature von «MS Teams Meetings in separaten Fenstern» aus. Ein lang ersehntes Feature meinerseits!

Azure Cost Management für CSP Kunden

Azure COst Management for CSP Customers

Bereits seit Ende 2019 steht das Azure Cost Management auch für Microsoft Cloud Solution Provider (CSP) zur Verfügung. Das bedeutet, dass ein CSP die anfallenden Kosten für die bezogenen Microsoft Cloud Services direkt im Azure Portal einsehen kann. Der Kunde hingegen hat standardmässig keinen Zugriff. Folgend die Erklärung, wie du das Azure Cost Management als CSP für einen Kunden aktivieren kannst, welche Voraussetzungen dafür gegeben sein müssen und welche Einschränkungen im Moment existieren.

Part 1: Online-Trainings Learnings by Yannic – Ausstattung und Organisation

In den letzten Tagen habe ich verschiedene Online-Trainings und Webinare durchgeführt. Diverse Trainings und Kurse mussten aufgrund der aktuellen Krisensituation (COVID19) online stattfinden und nicht wie geplant im Klassen- oder Sitzungszimmer. Diese Situation bringt neue Herausforderungen mit sich. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich daher festhalten welche ich aus den durchgeführten Online-Trainings gezogen habe. Die meisten Lehren beziehen sich dabei auf mehrtägige Online-Trainings, aber gelten auch für kürzere, beispielsweise Halbtagstrainings.

Part 3: Online-Trainings Learnings by Yannic – Fortlaufend während des Online-Trainings

Du hast die Vorbereitungen aus Part 1 getroffen und das Training wie in Part 2 beschrieben gestartet? Super. Nun ist es aber wichtig, dass du den Schwung aus den guten Vorbereitungen und der gelungenen Einleitung mitnehmen kannst. Achte dich während des gesamten Online-Trainings auf die folgenden Punkte. Achte darauf, dass auch während des Kurses eine gewisse Portion Humor nicht fehl am Platz ist.

de_CHGerman