Certificate-based Point to Site Azure VPN through Intune

P2S VPN through Intune header

As the business world becomes increasingly mobile, cloud services are becoming even more attractive. But what if, as is often the case, there are still dependencies on an enterprise network - on Azure, for example? The solution is obvious: a point-to-site VPN ensures communication for mobile workers. In this how-to post, I discuss how a certificate-based point-to-site VPN to an Azure VPN gateway can be automatically rolled out to mobile clients through Intune. I also discuss how certificates can be automatically issued and renewed by a Certificate Authority in combination with Intune.

ARM template deployment – Hub and Spoke with Bastion

ARM Template Hub and Spoke with Bastion

With an Azure Resource Manager (ARM) template, you can create a specific infrastructure on Azure with the click of a button. The template defines the infrastructure as code and Azure is thereby told the target state of the resources. I have created such a template and published it via Github. The ARM template deployment includes a hub and spoke network topology with a central Azure bastion for secure access to VMs. This post shows you step by step how to use the template for yourself.

Use Azure Bastion with VNet peering

Azure Bastion with VNet peering

The Microsoft PaaS "Azure Bastion" is a popular service to make your Azure networks more secure. However, until now there was a drastic limit. Azure Bastion could only be used in the same VNet. VMs in a peered network could not be accessed via Bastion. This circumstance pushes up the costs, because with a hub-and-spoke topology you have to place a bastion in each VNet. But these times are over. Use Azure Bastion with VNet peering (since 05.11.2020 in preview).

Azure Bastion - Secure access to Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

The work forms "home office", "remote work" or even "work anywhere" are becoming increasingly important, especially in recent months. This change affects not only users, but also IT staff and system administrators. However, I am often confronted with mistrust and security concerns when dealing with such issues. This is where Azure Bastion comes into play. Bastion not only enables "work anywhere" for system administrators, but also provides increased security and secure access to your Azure VMs without the need for a VPN!

Azure Bastion Planning and Implementation

Plan and Implement Azure Bastion - Banner

Azure Bastion is an Azure service that allows you to access your Azure VMs securely and centrally via the web portal. This allows you to enable your system administrators and system specialists to "work anywhere" without any security concerns. In this article I will not focus on the service itself, but rather on the steps necessary to plan and implement Azure Bastion.

en_GBEnglish

Zertifikat basiertes Point to Site Azure VPN per Intune

P2S VPN through Intune header

Mit der immer mobiler werdenden Arbeitswelt werden Cloud Services umso attraktiver. Doch was, wenn wie so oft noch Abhängigkeiten zu einem Enterprise Netzwerk – beispielsweise auf Azure – bestehen? Die Lösung liegt auf der Hand, ein Point to Site VPN stellt die Kommunikation für mobil Arbeitende sicher. In diesem How-to Post gehe ich darauf ein, wie ein Zertifikat basiertes Point to Site VPN zu einem Azure VPN Gateway per Intune auf den mobilen Clients automatisch ausgerollt werden kann. Ebenfalls gehe ich darauf ein, wie die Zertifikate von einer Certificate Authority im Zusammenspiel mit Intune automatisch ausgestellt und auch erneuert werden können.

ARM Template Deployment – Hub and Spoke mit Bastion

ARM Template Hub and Spoke with Bastion

Mit einem Azure Resource Manager (ARM) Template kannst du per Knopfdruck eine bestimmte Infrastruktur auf Azure erstellen. Das Template definiert die Infrastruktur als Code und Azure wird dadurch der Sollzustand der Ressourcen mitgeteilt. Ein solches Template habe ich erstellt und über Github veröffentlicht. Das ARM Template Deployment beinhaltet eine Hub and Spoke Netzwerktopologie mit einer zentralen Azure Bastion für den sicheren Zugriff auf VMs. Dieser Beitrag zeigt dir Schritt für Schritt, wie du das Template für dich nutzen kannst.

Verwende Azure Bastion mit VNet peering

Azure Bastion with VNet peering

Der Microsoft PaaS «Azure Bastion» ist ein beliebter Dienst um deine Azure Netzwerke sicherer zu gestallten. Bisher gab es jedoch eine einschneidende Limite. Azure Bastion konnte nur im selben VNet verwendet werden. Auf VMs in einem peered Netzwerkkonnte über Bastion nicht zugegriffen werden. Dieser Umstand treibt die Kosten nach oben, da du bei einer Hub-and-Spoke Topologie in jedem VNet eine Bastion platzieren musst. Doch diese Zeiten sind vorbei. Verwende Azure Bastion mit VNet peering (seit 05.11.2020 in preview).

Azure Bastion – Sicheren Zugriff auf Azure VMs

az bastion secure access vms

Die Arbeitsformen «Home Office», «remote work» oder gar «work anywhere» gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung, besonders in den vergangenen Monaten. Dieser Wandel betrifft nicht nur Nutzer, sondern auch IT-Mitarbeiter und Systemadministratoren. Oft werde ich bei solchen Themen aber mit Misstrauen und Sicherheitsbedenken konfrontiert. Hier kommt Azure Bastion ins Spiel. Bastion ermöglicht nicht nur «work anywhere» für Systemadministratoren, sondern bietet gleichwohl erhöhte Sicherheit und sicheren Zugriff auf deine Azure VMs, ohne die Notwendigkeit eines VPNs!

Azure Bastion Planen und Implementieren

Plan and Implement Azure Bastion - Banner

Azure Bastion ist ein Azure Service, mit dem du sicher und zentral auf deine Azure VMs über das Web Portal zugreifen kannst. Die Arbeitsform «work anywhere» kannst du damit auch ohne Sicherheitsbedenken deinen Systemadministratoren und Systemspezialisten ermöglichen. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich aber nicht auf den Service selbst, sondern viel mehr auf die nötigen Schritte um Azure Bastion zu Planen und Implementieren eingehen.

de_CHGerman