Automatically audit and deploy Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies

You can create resources very easily on the Azure platform. This is great, but it also provides a few risks. For example, you can delete resources or entire environments just as easily. What is very helpful for tests and demos can be very dangerous for integration and production environments. So you don't have to manage this manually, I wrote an Azure Policy code. This defines the automatic auditing and provisioning of Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies.

If you want to learn more about Azure Resource Lock and its benefits first, I recommend the following short video of mine (sound on).

Azure Resource Lock and its importance – by Yannic Graber

Step-by-step – automation via Azure Policies

Since I provide the code on my public GitHub repository already finished, an automation is conceivably simple. First you open GitHub with the following link.

https://github.com/grabery/graber.cloud-azure-templates/tree/main/gov/policies/audit-and-deploy-resource-lock

Select the "Deploy to Azure" button and log in to the Azure portal with the appropriate account.

AzureRGLock-GitHub-DeployToAzure

A form appears in which you only have to select the desired subscription on which you want to save the policy definition. The other fields are all already filled with a default value. Among other things, you also create a new policy category called "Governance", in which you then place the definition. If you prefer to use a different name or an existing category, you can easily customize that. You can change all default values to your liking. The field "Role Definition" has to be kept with "Owner". Then click on "Save".

You have successfully created the policy and can find it in "Policy" under "Definitions". To find it quickly, simply select the filter "Custom" under "Type".

AzureRGLock-FindDefinition

Click on the policy and select "Assign" to apply the created policy. A form will appear, which you should leave with the default values. If desired, you can add a description. Then select "Next" to get to the parameters. Here you need to make a decision. The policy behaves in such a way that it creates a lock on all resource groups by default. The only exceptions are resource groups that have a certain "tag value". So you have to define here in which tag you want to search for which value for the exclusion. The fields already contain a default value as a suggestion from me, which you can take over.

AzureRGLock-setTagValues
  • I intentionally work with the exclusion method to increase security. If it were the other way around and the setting of the tag was forgotten during a deployment, the resource group and the resources it contains would not be protected.
  • Make sure that you have already set the exclusion tag for the resource groups to be excluded before you continue. Otherwise, you will need to manually remove the lock from them later on.

Once you have decided on a tag and its value, select "Next" to continue.

Now a "remediation task" has to be created. This task ensures that the existing resource groups are not only checked, but also that a lock is automatically created. This is therefore more or less the main point of the whole thing. For the "remediation task" Azure creates a "managed identity", which as "owner" can then automatically create the lock for you. So check the box "Create a remediation task" and then select the Azure region in which you want to create the managed identity.

AzureRGLock-RemediationTaskDefinition

Now select "Review + create" to create and assign the policy based on the definition. Now you need some patience until the policy has performed the first check and created the necessary locks automatically. You can check the status under "Overview" of the policies.

Validation - Automatically audit and deploy Azure Resource Locks

After a while the first check of the resource groups should be done and they should be protected by the remediation task. Now check the properties of the resource group to see if you can find the new lock where you want it and if the tagged resource groups remain unaffected by the remediation task.

Expected outcome of the resource groups (RGs):

  • A lock was created for existing RGs WITHOUT tag.
  • Existing RGs WITH tag were filtered and therefore NO lock was created.
  • Newly created RGs are checked directly by the policy when they are created and
    • ...WITHOUT tag, they are also provided with a lock.
    • ...WITH tag, they are filtered and therefore NO lock is created.
AzureRGLock-CheckAutoLock

Congratulations! You have successfully automated the auditing and provisioning of Azure Resource Locks with Azure Policies!

Leave a comment

en_GBEnglish

Automatisches Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies

Ressourcen kannst du auf der Azure Plattform sehr einfach erstellen. Das ist grossartig, doch bietet auch ein paar gefahren. Beispielsweise kannst du nämlich Ressourcen oder ganze Umgebungen genau so einfach löschen. Was für Tests und Demos sehr hilfreich ist, kann bei Integrations- und Produktions- Umgebungen sehr gefährlich sein. Damit du dies nicht manuell zu verwalten brauchst, habe ich einen Azure Policy Code geschrieben. Dieser definiert das automatische Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies.

Falls du zuerst noch mehr über Azure Resource Lock und dessen Nutzen erfahren möchtest, empfehle ich dir das folgende Kurzvideo von mir (Ton an).

Azure Resource Lock and its importance – by Yannic Graber

Schritt-für-Schritt – Automatisierung per Azure Policies

Da ich den Code auf meinem öffentlichen GitHub Repository bereits fertig zur Verfügung stelle, ist eine Automatisierung erdenklich einfach. Als erstes öffnest du als GitHub mit folgendem Link.

https://github.com/grabery/graber.cloud-azure-templates/tree/main/gov/policies/audit-and-deploy-resource-lock

Wähle den Button «Deploy to Azure» und logge dich im Azure Portal mit dem gewünschten Account ein.

AzureRGLock-GitHub-DeployToAzure

Ein Formular erscheint, in welchem du nur noch das gewünschte Abonnement aussuchen musst, auf welchem du die Policy Definition abspeichern möchtest. Die anderen Felder sind alle bereits mit einem Standardwert gespiesen. Unter anderem erstellst du auch eine neue Policy Kategorie namens «Governance», in welcher du die Definition dann platzierst. Falls du lieber einen anderen Namen oder eine bereits bestehende Kategorie verwenden willst, kannst du das einfach anpassen. Du kannst also alle Standardwerte ganz nach deinem Gusto verändern. Das Feld «Role Definition» muss allerdings mit «Owner» beibehalten werden. Klicke dann auf «Save».

Du hast die Policy erfolgreich erstellt und findest sie bei «Policy» unter «Definitions». Damit du sie schnell finden kannst, wähle bei «Type» einfach den Filter «Custom».

AzureRGLock-FindDefinition

Klick die Policy an und wähle «Assign», um die erstellte Policy auch anzuwenden. Ein Formular erscheint wiederrum, welches du mit den Standardwerten bestehen lassen sollst. Wenn gewünscht, so kannst du allerdings eine Beschreibung hinzufügen. Wähle dann «Next», um zu den Parametern zu gelangen. Hier brauchst du eine Entscheidung zu treffen. Die Policy verhält sich nämlich so, dass sie per Standard auf allen Ressourcengruppen einen Lock erstellt. Ausgenommen sind nur Ressourcengruppen, die über einen gewissen «Tag-Value» verfügen. Du brauchst also hier zu definieren, in welchem Tag du für den Ausschluss nach welchem Wert suchen möchtest. Die Felder beinhalten bereits einen Standardwert als Vorschlag von mir, welchen du gerne übernehmen kannst.

AzureRGLock-setTagValues
  • Ich arbeite absichtlich mit dem Ausschlussverfahren, um die Sicherheit zu erhöhen. Wäre es nämlich umgekehrt und das Setzen des Tags ginge bei einem Deployment vergessen, so wäre die Ressourcengruppe und die darin enthaltenen Ressourcen nicht geschützt.
  • Stelle sicher, dass du bei den auszuschliessenden Ressourcengruppen das Tag zum Ausschluss bereits gesetzt hast, bevor du weiterfährst. Andernfalls brauchst du den Lock bei diesen wieder manuell zu entfernen.

Hast du dich für ein Tag und dessen Wert entschiede, wähle «Next», um weiterzufahren.

Jetzt gilt es einen «remediation task» zu erstellen. Dieser Task stellt sicher, dass die bestehenden Ressourcengruppen nicht nur geprüft werden, sondern auch automatisch ein Lock erstellt wird. Das ist daher mehr oder weniger der Kernpunkt des Ganzen. Für den «remediation task» erstellt Azure eine «managed identity», welche als «Owner» dann den Lock für dich jeweils automatisch erstellen kann. Setze also den Haken bei «Create a remediation task» und wähle dann die gewünschte Azure Region aus, in welcher du die «managed identity» erstellen lassen möchtest.

AzureRGLock-RemediationTaskDefinition

Wähle nun «Review + create» um die Policy basierend auf der Definition zu erstellen und zuzuweisen. Nun brauchst du etwas Geduld, bis die Policy die erste Prüfung durchgeführt und die notwendigen Locks automatisch erstellt hat. Den Status kannst du jeweils unter «Overview» der Policies abrufen.

Validieren – Automatisches Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks

Nach einer Weile sollte die erste Prüfung der Ressourcengruppen durch sein und diese durch den «remediation task» geschützt. Prüfe nun in den Eigenschaften der Ressourcengruppe, ob du den neuen Lock da wo gewünscht vorfinden kannst und die per Tag gefilterten Ressourcengruppen vom «remediation task» unberührt blieben.

Erwartetes Ergebnis der Ressourcengruppen (RGs):

  • Bei bestehenden RGs OHNE Tag wurde ein Lock erstellt.
  • Bestehende RGs MIT Tag wurden gefiltert und es wurde daher KEIN Lock erstellt.
  • Neu erstellte RGs werden bei der Erstellung direkt von der Policy geprüft und
    • …werden OHNE Tag ebenfalls mit einem Lock versehen.
    • …werden MIT Tag gefiltert und es wird daher kein Lock erstellt.
AzureRGLock-CheckAutoLock

Gratuliere! Du hast das Prüfen und Bereitstellen von Azure Resource Locks mit Azure Policies erfolgreich automatisiert!

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

de_CHGerman